Club Lotto


County Champions 2019-10-13 13:47:00

County Champions

Islandeady’s Minor team gave a great display of skilled football and teamwork to win the county Minor E championship final at the expense of Hollymount-Carramore at McHale Park on Saturday evening. In an entertaining game, Islandeady played with spirit and were comfortably ahead in the first half until Cathal Maloney found the net for Hollymount/Carramore after a shot from his teammate Oisín duffy just failed to get past Saul McCarthy in the Islandeady goal. Led by captain Mark Kirby as full back, the Islandeady defence was making life difficult for the Hollymount/Carramore forwards. Diarmuid Kelly, Dylan Walsh and Conor Coyle held firm while Nathan Reilly Doyle and Conor Sloyan counter-attacked with determination, Nathan scoring 1-2, Conor 0-1. The centrefield pairing of Cillian Joyce and Diarmuid Rowan were strong and each scored a point. The forwards showed their speed and scoring prowess; Owen Morris ran a long distance with the ball and got a goal, Ciaran Gallagher scored 1-1, Tommie Coen scored 0-4 and Brian Flaherty scored 0-3, two of these from frees. Substitute Cian Moylette entered the field of play in the second half, while Dylan Kelly, David Moran, Ethan Barrett, Kevin Coyne, Jack Carney, Seamus  Hughes, Jonathan Lally and Liam Hegarty were ready for action if called upon. Managers Kieran Gibbons and Seán McLoughlin were justifiably proud of their charges as they mounted the steps to receive their well-earned trophy. 


Player Profile

Ollie Feeney